Anna Edlund was named 2018 Teacher of the Year at the Excellence in Education award banquet on April 22. Edlund is the Gifted Services Facilitator at Bluff Creek Elementary, but her realm of influence goes far beyond the school’s walls. She has grown initiatives in Bluff Creek Elementary and Eastern Carver County Schools including Biztown, the Bluff Creek Podcast, the Bluff Creek Garden, Project Impact, and more. Our district’s expanding partnership with U.S. Fish and Wildlife and Rapids Lake Education and Visitor Center is largely due to the tireless work by Edlund. She is also the founder of Funky Minds Nonprofit, a youth leadership organization and catalyst for community connection. Edlund’s dedication to building partnerships with parents, businesses, nonprofits, and government organizations truly creates exceptional, personalized learning opportunities for students in our district.

The Excellence In Education Award is a program of the District 112 Foundation, a non-profit dedicated to advancing innovation and excellence in education in Eastern Carver County Schools. In addition to Edlund, the Teacher of the Year finalists included Dave Carlson, Chanhassen High School; Janet Holler, Chanhassen Elementary; Becky Janes, Victoria Elementary; and Mary Schoen, Jonathan Elementary.

Anna Edlund will receive $3,000 for use in her classroom and the four finalists will each receive $500 for use in their classrooms, thanks to our sponsors Five Stars Recovery Center, Lundahl Financial Services, Community Insurance Advisors, Rasmussen College, Wally’s Sports & Clothing, and Workplace Insurance Strategies.

Past Teacher of the Year award recipients include: Jake Jauert, Edie Stearns, Tim Beckler, Candice Galipo, Bob Downs, Michele Schnaare, Sara Rother, Mary Perrine, Julie Myhr, Arlene Borner, and Eric Songer.

Learn more about how the District 112 Foundation supports schools and educators in your neighborhood.