The 2019 Teacher of the Year will be named at an awards banquet, Sunday, April 28, 4 p.m., at Oak Ridge Conference Center.

The District 112 Foundation has announced five finalists for Eastern Carver County Schools’ 2019 Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to:

Bill Gilness – Chaska Middle School West
Nina Kirkman – Pioneer Ridge Middle School
Mary Mobeck – Carver Elementary School
Virginia Jackson – Chanhassen Elementary
Justin Newman – Chaska Middle School East


Past Teacher of the Year award recipients include:  Anna Edlund (’18), Jake Jauert (’17), Edie Stearns (’16), Tim Beckler (’15), Candice Galipo (’14), Bob Downs (’13), Michele Schnaare (’12), Sara Rother (’11), Mary Perrine (’10), Julie Myhr (’09), Arlene Borner (’08), and Eric Songer (’07).

The Teacher of the Year will receive a $3,000 grant for use in their schools and finalists will receive a $500 grant through Teacher of the Year sponsors The Chaska Mill, Qdoba, Rasmussen College, Lenzen Chevrolet-Buick.