Celebrate Chaska Elementary School!

Chaska Elementary Alumni Night Thursday, May 18 – 6-8 p.m. 1800 N. Chestnut St., Chaska Come celebrate and reminisce with past and present Chaska Elementary School students, staff members and families. Live Music from The Tuxedo Band Tour the “Little White School House” Food trucks on site Take a tour through the building and a walk down memory lane! Watch for updates at ces.district112.org.   read more

District plans for first 6th grade bilingual class

The district’s two-way, dual-language elementary immersion school, La Academia, expands to Chaska Middle School West in the 2017-18 school year. Students who started at La Academia four years ago enter middle school this fall. These fluent Spanish speakers can take a 6th grade Communication Arts course in Spanish called Expresiones, and a U.S. History course in Spanish. Learners in these courses will continue to develop language proficiency in Spanish. Students will also be provided with opportunities to explore various cultural connections. The course content and standards in these subjects are similar to English-only middle school classes. La Academia and middle school teachers have been working together this year to prepare for the incoming group of bilingual 6th grade students. U.S. History teachers from each of the district’s middle schools have met to outline course objectives and units. Learners will focus on United States and Minnesota history from the mid-1800s to current... read more

District to purchase land for future elementary school

Eastern Carver County Schools is looking to purchase land in Chaska that would be used for a future elementary school. About half of the six acres would be purchased now. The other three acres will be purchased from the city in the future. The land is northeast of the intersection of Highway 212 and County Road 44 in an area known as “Big Woods.” An elementary school will be needed there as the area develops. The land is being purchased through an agreement with the City of Chaska, which plans to buy more than 50 acres for a park. As the district has done with other schools, the city and district would share park facilities and parking lots. These sharing arrangements create savings for city and district taxpayers. Eastern Carver County Schools’ Board of Directors reviewed the purchase agreement at its work session Feb. 13 and will decide on approval Feb. 27. As part of the 2015 referendum, voters approved the district’s plan to purchase land now for a future... read more

Hooked on Books…and the Arts, too! – Feb. 11th

Join us for a morning of free family fun to celebrate reading and the arts! Saturday, February 11 9 am to Noon Chanhassen High School This year’s event features David LaRochelle, a former elementary school teacher and author/illustrator of numerous children’s books.  His lively presentations thoroughly engage children as he teaches them about the creative process of writing and illustrating books. A Minnesota native, LaRochelle has won several awards including the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor, Golden Kite Award for Picture Books, and he was nominated for a Minnesota Book Award. His books include: How Martha Saved her Parents from Green Beans, Moo!, Absolutely Positively Not, and It’s a Tiger.  Hooked on Books…and the Arts, too! is a community-wide celebration in support of literacy and the arts. The event integrates literacy and the arts in an imaginative and innovative way through activities, performances, and books by local authors.  The annual event is a partnership... read more