Teaching & Learning

Blue Ribbon logo

Eastern Carver County Schools is a proud recipient of an U.S. Department of Education, National Blue Ribbon School Award.  This award is bestowed upon schools who demonstrate success in closing the achievement gap between demographic groups. Chanhassen Elementary was a 2023 award recipient.

Students in Eastern Carver County Schools are seen, heard, valued, trusted, and respected for who they are and who they want to become. Highly trained licensed educators and dedicated support staff ensure students thrive within active, student-centered learning environments. High academic standards, a commitment to equity and excellence, and tailored levels of support help each learner realize their personal best.

Life-long skills are cultivated at a young age in Eastern Carver County Schools: Resilience, Collaboration, Critical Thinking, Global Awareness, and Cultural Literacy are emphasized alongside our rigorous curriculum and programs. Personalizing learning is a hallmark of the care and commitment that distinguishes Eastern Carver Schools and elevates us as a destination district.

Opportunities abound for students in our schools. Multiple high schools, three middle schools,  six neighborhood elementary schools, and a Spanish-English immersion option are points of pride for the communities we serve. Athletics, activities, clubs, and various affinity groups help nurture talents, peak interests, and celebrate excellence.

Eastern Carver County Schools proudly provides options for gifted learners and has dedicated staffing at all levels to ensure challenge and engagement with meaningful and relevant content and curricula. Learn more about our unique commitment to personalizing learning.

What Sets Eastern Carver County Schools Apart?


Erin Rathke
Interim Superintendent
Chris Hentges
Leader of Personalized Learning:
Digital Services
Dan Cahill
Leader of Personalized Learning:
Brian Beresford
Leader of Personalized Learning:
Jason Pelowski
Digital Learning Project Manager
Liisa Gilbert
Multi-Lingual Learning Specialist
Maggie Rasmussen
ALC Specialist
Katerina Miller
Anne Wise
Administrative Assistant
Kim Schultenover
Administrative Assistant
Deborah O'Connor
Administrative Assistant