2022 Teacher of the Year finalists announced

112 Foudnation

The District 112 Foundation is pleased to announce the five finalists for the 2022 Excellence in Education (Teacher of the Year) Award. In alphabetical order, the finalists are as follows:

  • Mary Ann Hallgren (Carver Elementary, K-5 Special Education)
  • Kelly Motta (La Academia, 1st grade)
  • Scott Prescott (Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Band/Choir)
  • Erin Puk (Carver Elementary, 1st grade)
  • Laura Tessmer (Clover Ridge Elementary, 5th grade)

The Foundation received 56 total nominations for 43 teachers across the school district. Historically, most nominations are submitted by parents, but this year a record number of students nominated teachers. The teachers value and appreciate every nomination, but the nominations from their students are always especially well received. The 2022 Excellence in Education Award recipient will be announced in May, so stay tuned!

In addition to the five finalists, the following teachers were also nominated to receive the annual Excellence in Education / Teacher of the Year Award:

Carver Elementary:

  • Sara Jeppson
  • Michael Schladweiler
  • Joan Wright
  • Blair Leigh

Chanhassen Elementary:

  • Kristin Volp
  • Gretchen Mettert
  • Mary Larsen

Chanhassen High School:

  • Shane Fischer
  • Janet Kading
  • Heather Stohs
  • Kate Kowalkoski

Chaska High School:

  • Kelly Dreier
  • Tyler Lidke
  • Kelly Harris
  • Robert Dahlin
  • Jennifer Farrell
  • Leah Schreifels
  • Tim Beckler
  • Erica Davidson
  • Kate Kowalkoski
  • Alison Nieber
  • Kristi Newby
  • Robert Benson
  • Kate Kramer
  • Cassie Bernhardt
  • Monica Castaldi

Chaska Middle School East:

  • Eli Johnson

Clover Ridge Elementary:

  • Emma Leu
  • Joan Reesor
  • Emily Stoddart

East Union Elementary:

  • Kristi Muck

Family Learning Center:

  • Patti Thompson

Integrated Arts Academy:

  • Jennifer Williams

Jonathan Elementary:

  • Jackie Paul-Giese
  • Heidi Zemek

La Academia:

  • Kyla Johnson
  • Ismael CalderonGarcia

Pioneer Ridge Middle School:

  • Brett Carlson
  • Cortnee DePoppe